ICICI Lombard and CNBC -TV18 Recognize India’s Best hospitals at the ‘India Healthcare Awards’

·         27 hospitals recognized for outstanding service 

·         Awards for District Hospitals included in this year’s edition

unnamed (26) ICICI Lombard and CNBC -TV18 today announced the winners of the prestigious ‘India Healthcare Awards’.  An initiative to recognize and honor India’s finest health care service providers witnessed more than 3500 hospitals from metro, non-metro as well as districts participating for the honors. A total of 27 awards were conferred at a grand function organized at The Taj Palace, New Delhi. The award ceremony was felicitated by Dr. Montek Singh Ahluwalia, Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission of India.

The winners include reputed Hospitals like Tata Memorial Hospital, Hinduja Hospital Mumbai; Lilavati Hospital & Research centre, Mumbai and Fortis Escorts Heart Institute, New Delhi among others.

Mr. Bhargav Dasgupta, MD & CEO, ICICI Lombard General Insurance said “It’s been a memorable journey since we partnered with CNBC TV-18 in 2010 to introduce the India Healthcare Awards. Now in its fourth year, this platform has evolved considerably to become a benchmark that recognizes and acknowledges the efforts of the Leaders in the Healthcare Provider Fraternity. Receiving over 3,500 nominations this year is a testimony of the response that it has been able to garner and showcases the quality and rigorous methodology that the jury has been able to set to decide the Winners”.

On this occasion, Mr. Anil Unniyal, CEO, CNBC-TV 18 and CNBC Awaaz commented “Our association with ICICI lombard is by far one of the most gratifying ones as it supports the health ministry’s relentless efforts in making good quality medical services affordable to the masses and medical insurance becomes an extension of this service. There is a need to educate the masses about the importance of insurance and these awards will help provide impetus to the good work done by these. We hope these awards become most the coveted industry recognition and create an industry benchmark in itself”

The India Healthcare Awards are conferred on the Best hospitals across different areas of specialization and geographies based on a rigorous and objective evaluation process. The exercise spans three phases: Nominations, Short listing by India’s leading research agency – IMRB (based on scope of service, infrastructure, patient safety record and innovation & research) followed by final selection of the short listed hospitals by an eminent jury of experts from related fields. The categories in which awards are conferred include General Service, Tertiary Care Hospitals (multi and single specialty hospitals), Rashtriya Swasthya Bima Yojana award to hospitals for outstanding service to the community and WHO Awards for excellence in Primary Healthcare.

 List of Winners

S.No Category Winner City
Best Hospital in Single  specialty
1 Cardiology Fortis Escorts Heart Institute & Research Centre Delhi Delhi
2 Gastroenterology Asian Institute of gastroenterology Hyderabad
3 Urology R. G. Stone Urological Research Institute Delhi
4 Oncology Tata Memorial Hospital Mumbai
5 Ophthalmology Sankara  Nethralaya Medical Research Foundation Chennai
6 Endocrinology Dr. V Mohan’s Diabetes Specialities Centre Chennai
7 Orthopaedics Soundarapandian Bone and Joint Hospital Chennai
8 Paediatrics The Kanchi Kamkoti Child Trust Hospital Chennai
9 Neurology Institute of Neurosciences Kolkata
10 Gynaecology Gunasheela Surgical and Maternity Hospital Bengaluru
11 Psychiatry National Institute of Mental Health and Neuro Sciences Bengaluru
Award for Multi Speciality Hospital
12 Megapolis Hinduja Hospital,Lilavati hospital & research centre, Mumbai Mumbai
13 Metro Sterling Hospital Ahmedabad
14 Non-metro G. Kuppuswami naidu memorial Hospital Coimbatore
Best District Hospital
15 Grade -1 Barasat State General Hospital Kolkata
District Hospital Bijapur
16 Grade -2 District hospital Kutch
17 Grade – 3 District Hospital Bagalkot
Award for Hospitals with Medical College
18 Megapolis AIIMS New Delhi
19 Metro Civil Hospital Ahmedabad
20 Non-metro Post Graduate Institute of Medical Education & Research Chandigarh
RSBY award for outstanding Service to the community
21 Private Nazareth Hospital, Shillong, District – East Khasi Hills Meghalaya
Gupta Hospital , District Dhamtari Chhattisgarh
22 Public Dr. Ram Manohar Lohia Hospital, Lucknow Uttar Pradesh
Taluk Head Quarters Hospital, Cherthala, District Alleppey Kerala
23 Award for General Hospital Orange City Hospital & Research Institute Nagpur
24 Commendation for Innovation in Transforming Lives Sri Sathya Sai Mobile Hospital